Who is the head of government in Spain?

Who is in charge of Spain’s government?

The current prime minister is Pedro Sánchez, who took office on 2 June 2018.

Government of Spain
Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez
Deputy Prime Minister Carmen Calvo Poyato
Number of members 23 (2019–2023)

What is the head of government in Spain called?

The form of government in Spain is a parliamentary monarchy, that is, a social representative democratic constitutional monarchy in which the monarch is the head of state, while the prime minister—whose official title is “President of the Government”—is the head of government.

Who is Spain’s chief of state?

Prime Minister of Spain

Prime Minister of Spain Presidente del Gobierno de España
Incumbent Pedro Sánchez since 2 June 2018
Government of Spain Office of the Prime Minister
Style Excelentísimo Señor (The Most Excellent)
Member of Council of Ministers European Council

Is the King of Spain the head of the government?

The Crown of Spain (la Corona de España), with its roots in the Visigothic kingdom from the 5th century and subsequent successor states, is recognized in Title II The Crown, Articles 56 through 65 of the Spanish Constitution of 1978. … The King is Head of State, the symbol of its unity and permanence.

Is Spain federal?

Spain is not a federation, but a decentralised unitary country. … Some scholars have referred to the resulting system as a federal system in all but name, or a “federation without federalism”. There are 17 autonomous communities and two autonomous cities that are collectively known as “autonomies”.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  You asked: Can I go to Spain without a passport?

Who rules Spain today?

King Felipe VI (Spanish pronunciation: [feˈlipe], baptised as Felipe Juan Pablo Alfonso de Todos los Santos de Borbón y de Grecia; born 30 January 1968) is the current King of Spain.

Felipe VI of Spain.

Felipe VI
King Felipe VI in January 2019
King of Spain (more…)
Reign 19 June 2014 – present
Enthronement 19 June 2014
Temperamental Spain